Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > Sports > News > PTI > Report

Len Aiyappa puts Karnataka in semis

July 16, 2003 21:01 IST

A hat-trick by former international Len Aiyappa and three goals by striker Amar Aiyamma enabled Karnataka XI beatASC Bangalore6-3 and storm into the semi-finalsinthe 81st Murugappa-MCChockey tournament in Chennai on Wednesday.

Karnataka XI willtake onIndian Railways, who, in an earlier match, beat Indian Overseas Bank 6-4 via the tie-breaker.

Bald-pated Aiyappa, considered no longer fast enough to do duty for the country, stole the thunder, recording his second hat-trick of thetournament, scoring the second, third and fourth goals after Amar Aiyamma put Karnatakaaheadand ASC drew level 1-1 through captain Asif Ali.

All the action unfolded in the second-half after the teams went into the break on equal terms. First Aiyappa, with his characteristic drag-flick, forced a 2-1 lead for Karnataka. ASC drew level when Suresh hoodwinked the Karanataka defence, trapping S V Sunil's pass on top of the circle.

However, Aiyappa turned out to be the toast of Karnataka when he converted two more penalty-corners in the 39th and 41st minutes to see the team lead 4-2.

ASC did not throw the towel in. Pressing good counter-moves, they reduced Karnataka's lead (3-4), again through Asif Ali, who struck following a penalty-corner.

But as the nail-biting contest continued, Karnataka took charge again, attacking relentlessly from the flanks. Aiyamma exhibited his prowess by converting a penalty stroke, awarded in the 58th minute when Anup Anthony was fouled by ASC's Pradeep Singh inside the circle.

Three minutes later, Aiyamma struck again off a left flank move.

Earlier, Indian Railways rallied brilliantly in the tie-breaker to edge out a fighting young Indian Overseas Bank (IOB) 6-4 after being held to a 1-1 draw in the regulation time.

In a match of swift moves and counter-moves, IOB forced the lead against the run of the play in 30th minute. Into the second session, Railways levelled through captain Chander Pal in a three-pronged move on the left flank with international Rajiv Mishra and Vijay Alphonso.

But from then on, the fast-paced contest failed to produce any goals right till the extra-time of seven-and-a-half minutes each for the golden goal. This necessitated the tie-breaker, in which Railways proved stronger, converting all five pushesthrough Rajiv Mishra, Jagmohan Singh, Bikramjit Singh, Chanderpal and Gursev Singh.

For IOB P U Iyappa, D Felix and D Muthukumaran managed to score.

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments


Copyright 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.