The Web


 Latest Sports news on mobile: sms SPRT to 7333

Home > Sports > News > PTI > Report

Karnataka beat Punjab cops

July 12, 2003 21:30 IST

Karnataka joined Air India and the Indian Hockey Federation Juniors in the quarter-finals, after defeating Punjab Police 2-1 in a Group D match in the 81st All India MCC Murugappa hockey tournament, in Chennai on Saturday evening. 

In another Group B match, former champions Indian Railways scored twice after a barren first half to beat Army Service Corp, Bangalore.

The Karnataka-Punjab Police match saw the former playing an attacking game in the first-half. However, they were unlucky to miss two scoring chances. Len Aiyappa's scoop off a penalty-corner hit the crosspiece and bounced back into play. Later, Amar Aiyamma's try was saved inches before the goal line by goalkeeper Manpreet Singh.

Karnataka kept up the pressure in the second-half and shot into the lead in the 42nd minute with Aiyappa sounded the board following a penalty-corner conversion. Two minutes later Suprian Aind made it 2-0 off a cross by substitute Kama Horo.

Punjab Police reduced the margin five minutes before the hooter, when Gabbar Singh found the target following a free hit by Ravinder Singh. 

In the Indian Railways-ASC match, the former was in full cry right from the start but could not break the Army defence in the first-half.

Railways took lead four minutes into the second half through Jagmohan Singh off a penalty-corner. Bikramjit Singh  (41st min) score off a pass from Rajiv Mishra to make the score 2-0 in favour of Railways.

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!
© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Related Stories

Aiyappa 'tricks' for Karnataka

Murugappa Gold Cup sans stars

India rout Argentina

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.