NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Second Samajwadi MP disqualified from Lok Sabha

Second Samajwadi MP disqualified from Lok Sabha

September 15, 2008 20:36 IST

Close on the heels of the disqualification of Samajwadi Party MP Jai Prakash Rawat, the Lok Sabha speaker on Monday disqualified another MP of the party S P Singh Baghel from the membership of the House under the anti-defection law.

The two MPs had defied party whip by voting against the United Progresssive Alliance government in the trust vote in Lok Sabha on July 22.

The Samajwadi Party had filed a disqualification petition against Baghel and Rawat on July 25.

Baghel was disqualified with effect from September 12, a Lok Sabha release said. Rawat was disqualified on September 11.

S P Singh Baghel, elected from Jalesar in Uttar Pradesh, had joined the Bahujan Samaj Party in August and was appointed its national general secretary along with another SP rebel and Rajya Sabha MP Shahid Siddiqui.

He had represented the Jalesar constituency for three consecutive terms.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.