NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Ten new members sworn in to Rajya Sabha

Ten new members sworn in to Rajya Sabha

December 10, 2008 13:46 IST
Samajwadi Party general secretary Amar Singh and his party colleague Ram Gopal Yadav along with eight other new members of Parliament were administered oath by Rajya Sabha Chairman Hamid Ansari on Wednesday.
Of the total 10 MPs who were administered oath in the Upper House, five belong to Bahujan Samaj Party, two are from the Bharatiya Janata Party and one MP is an Independent, apart from the two from the SP .
included Akhilesh Das, who earlier this year had joined the party after leaving the Congress, Brijesh Pathak, Veer Singh, Rajaram and Avtar Singh Karimpuri.
Kusum Rai and former Uttarakhand Chief Minister Bhagat Singh Koshiyari are the two BJP MPs who took oath.
Mohammad Adeeb was the Independent MP who was administered the oath in Rajya Sabha. Another BSP MP Brijlal Khabri, however, was not present in the House
© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.