NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » 49 Mumbai police officers transferred

49 Mumbai police officers transferred

Last updated on: December 11, 2003 17:01 IST

The Maharashtra government on Thursday carried out a major overhaul of Mumbai's police force, transferring 49 officers -- 17 assistant commissioners, nine senior inspectors and 23 inspectors.

Joint Commissioner of Police (Crime) Satyapal Singh described the transfers as "streamlining."

The Mumbai police has been under tremendous pressure to clean up its act following the arrest of several of its senior and middle-level officers in the multi-crore fake stamp paper scam.

When Commissioner P S Pasricha took over from R S Sharma last month, he had promised major changes in the set up. On Thursday, he began acting on his promise.

The 17 ACPs transferred have been identified as: D A Bhosle; A V Khupsave; S B Dane; A A Ivadkar; B V Lohane; R L Pawar; S P Puri; P I Aathe; A S Desai; P L Sonavare; C A Chowgule; O P Jedia; V J Mahajan; S D Tapase; V W Chandansive; R C Taide; M S Ingle.



Syed Firdaus Ashraf and Vijay Singh in Mumbai