NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Chavan, Murli Deora re-nominated for RS

Chavan, Murli Deora re-nominated for RS

March 11, 2008 22:58 IST

Senior Congress leader Motilal Vora and Union Ministers Prithviraj Chavan and Murli Deora on Tuesday got the party high command's green signal for nomination to Rajya Sabha.

While Chavan and Deora are getting nominated from Maharashtra, Vora is earning a nomination from Chhattisgarh, party sources said.

Meanwhile, it is to be seen from where M V Rajashekharan and Suresh Pachauri could be nominated to the Upper House. There are no biennial elections from Karnataka, from where Rajashekharan was elected to Rajya Sabha, as the assembly has been dissolved while in Madhya Pradesh, Pachauri's home state, the Congress has not enough strength to get even a single member through.

Pachauri, who was recently appointed Madhya Pradesh Congress Committee chief, has completed four terms in Rajya Sabha.

In Andhra Pradesh, which would bring the largest contingent into the Upper House in the biennial elections, Union Minister T Subbirami Reddy is being given an anxious time by his nephew and media baron Venkatram Reddy.
© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.