NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Sri Lanka: Rajapaksa's alliance gets simple majority

Sri Lanka: Rajapaksa's alliance gets simple majority

April 21, 2010 12:11 IST

Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa's ruling United People's Freedom Alliance (UPFA) on Thursday won two more seats in Kandy and Trincolamee districts, but still fell short of two-thirds majority it was seeking to carry out constitutional changes.

With the results of the two more seats announced late last night, UPFA tally in the 225 member Unicameral Parliament rose to 144, still six short of the two-thirds mark.

Repolling was ordered in 37 polling centres in these constituencies following complaints of irregularities in the April 8 general election to the Parliament.

With the final results out, ruling party will form a new government with just a simple majority. Officials had speculated that UPFA was seeking two-thirds majority to carry out electoral reforms and bring in provisions against promoting separatism.

The elections in Nawalapitiya constituency in Kandy district and Kumburupitiya in Trincomalee district concluded yesterday and counting subsequently completed to declare the finals seats in the two districts.

Out of 12 seats in Kandy district, the UFFA bagged 8 seats and the United National Party got 4 seats. Out of the four seats in Trincomalee district, the UPFA got 2, the UNP 1 and the Pro-LTTE Tamil National Alliance got one seat.

The election commission had decided to declare the final results including the 29 national lists chosen on basis of percentage of votes polled by individual parties or groups, after the repoll in two constituencies.

The main opposition, United National Party led by former Prime Minister Ranil Wickremsinghe has secured 60 seats, 22 seats less than what it got in the 2004 elections.

The pro-LTTE Tamil National Alliance, which had 22 members in the outgoing Parliament, now has 14 seats.

Detained former army chief Sarath Fonseka-led Democratic National Alliance could only get seven seats. The new Parliament will meet tomorrow when the elected members will take oath. 

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.