NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » 13 parties share 5 symbols in various states

13 parties share 5 symbols in various states

Last updated on: October 07, 2009 10:27 IST
They may differ in their ideologies but thanks to the Election Commission, 13 political parties share five symbols in various states. According to the EC website, Bala Saheb Thackeray's Shiv Sena, which preaches Hindu nationalism, shares its symbol 'Bow and Arrow' with Shibu Soren's Jharkhand Mukti Morcha which focuses on regional interests.

Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party that claims to be the saviour of Dalits, and Asom Gana Parishad, the main opposition party in Assam, use the same symbol 'Elephant'.

The BSP has got the symbol reserved in its name in all the Union Territories and states except the two north-eastern states of Assam and Sikkim.

While the EC has awarded 'Bicycle' symbol to Mulayam Singh Yadav's Samajwadi Party in Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and Uttarakhand, Telugu Desam Party in Andhra Pradesh, National Panthers Party in Jammu and Kashmir, Kerala Congress (Kerala) and Manipur People's Party in Manipur have also been given the same election symbol.

'Two leaves' is the symbol of Kerala Congress (M) in Kerala and Jayalalitha's All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam in Tamil Nadu and Puducherry.

The 'Lion' is used by All India Forward Block in West Bengal and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party in Goa. While there are only 58 registered symbols which are still to be allotted, over 1000 registered-unrecognised parties are waiting for a symbols.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.