NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » LS Speaker rejects resignations of 12 Telangana MPs

LS Speaker rejects resignations of 12 Telangana MPs

November 15, 2011 18:27 IST
The resignation of 12 members of Parliament of various political parties from Telangana region in Andhra Pradesh has not been accepted by Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar.

Parliament sources said the resignations, tendered in July in protest against the delay in the creation of a separate Telangana state, was rejected because they were not in a proper format. Of the 12 MPs, eight belonged to Congress and two each from Telugu Desam Party and Telangana Rashtra Samithi.

The Congress MPs whose resignations were rejected by the Speaker are Ponnam Prabhakar, G S Reddy, M Jagannath, S Rajaiah, P Balram Nayak, G Vivekanand, Suresh Shetkar and Madhu Goud Yakshi.

The others whose resignation was rejected are TDP MPs, Ramesh Rathod and Namma Nageswara Rao, and TRS chief K Chandrashekar Rao and party MP Vijayashanti.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.