NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Karnataka declares 19 more taluks as drought-hit

Karnataka declares 19 more taluks as drought-hit

July 28, 2012 22:36 IST

The Karnataka government on Saturday declared 19 more taluks as drought-hit taking the total taluks affected by scarcity conditions to 142.

Incidentally, the 19 taluks fall under Bengaluru, Shimoga, Chikmagalur, Mysore and Beglaum districts, which normally known to receive good rains.

The taluks which were declared as drought prone are Anekal, Bangalore Rural, Bangalore South, Bangalore East, Hoskote, Nelamangala, Ramanagar, Malur, Channagiri, Harihara, Hunsur, H D Kote, Gokak, Bhadravathi, Shimoga, Shikaripura, Tarikere, Channagiri and Alur, an official release said in Bengaluru.

To mitigate the sufferings of farmers reeling under worst drought in four decades in several parts of Karnataka, the government had on Tuesday announced a Rs 3,500-crore  package waiving farms loan up to Rs 25,000.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.