NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » BJP, JD-S tie in K'taka: Who will be Opposition leader?

BJP, JD-S tie in K'taka: Who will be Opposition leader?

May 08, 2013 23:38 IST

In Karnataka, the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Janata Dal-Secular have tied at the second spot with 40 seats each. Who will now be the main Opposition in the state and who will be its leader? 

In the event of such a tie, the term of the Opposition will be shared between the two parties. The first term will go to the BJP with Jagadish Shettar as the Opposition leader, as it was the ruling party in the last term.  The second term will go to the Janata Dal-Secular

and H D Kumaraswamy will be the leader. This scenario comes into play only in case of a tie.

However, once the results of the Periyapatna seats are out the situation may change. The death of BJP candidate Sannamge Gowda prompted the Election Commission to countermand the elections and hold it on May 25.

If either the BJP or the JD-S wins the seat they will be the main opposition. However, if the Congress wins then the term of Opposition term will be divided. 

Vicky Nanjappa in Bangalore