NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Ibobi Singh sworn in as chief minister of Manipur

Ibobi Singh sworn in as chief minister of Manipur

March 14, 2012 16:56 IST

Congress leader Okram Ibobi Singh was on Wednesday sworn in as the 23rd chief minister of Manipur for a third consecutive term.

Governor Gurbachan Jagat administered the oath of office and secrecy to Singh at a simple ceremony at Raj Bhavan at around 3.20 pm.

A number of senior Congress members who were to be sworn in along with Ibobi Singh could not take the oath because their names could not be finalised.

Ibobi Singh did not speak to the press and left for his official residence immediately after taking oath.

Senior Congress leaders like former forest minister Th Debendra, state Congress leader Gaikhangam and former irrigation minister Phungzathang, who were present during the Swearing-in ceremony and were expected to be sworn in, left Raj Bhavan after the chief minister.

Sources close to Ibobi Singh said the chief minister wanted representatives from all the nine districts to be included in the ministry.

As per the anti-defection law, Manipur can have 12 ministers only.

The sources said those who could not be included in the ministry would be given jobs as chairman or managing directors of government-run organisations.

They said that the ministry would be expanded in the next few days.

The Congress had won 42 of the 60 seats in the state assembly, securing two thirds majority in the assembly elections.

© Copyright 2017 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.