NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Indian-American author honoured

Indian-American author honoured

March 25, 2008 02:14 IST

Indian-American author Rishi Reddi has been by selected as one of the recipients of the 2007 L L Winship/PEN New England Awards. Reddi is being honored in the fiction category for her book Karma and Other Stories.

The L L Winship/PEN New England Awards are given annually to books with a setting in the US region of New England or authors from that region.

Besides Reddi, other recipients of the award include Kristen Laine in the non-fiction category for American Band: Music, Dreams, and Coming of Age in the Heartland, and Ann Killough in the poetry category for Beloved Idea.

Also announced was the 2008 Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award, which will be presented to Joshua Ferris for a distinguished first book of fiction for Then We Came to the End. Patrick Hemingway, the son of Nobel Prize-winning writer Ernest Hemingway, will present the prestigious literary award to Ferris.

The late Mary Hemingway, the wife of Ernest Hemingway, founded the Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award in 1976 to honor her late husband and draw attention to first books of fiction. Past recipients of the Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award include Edward P. Jones, Dagoberto Gilb, Susan Power, Chang-Rae Lee, Ha Jin, Charlotte Bacon, Rosina Lippi, Jhumpa Lahiri, Akhil Sharma, Justin Cronin, Gabriel Brownstein, Jennifer Haigh, Chris Abani, Yiyun Li, and Ben Fountain.

Rediff News Bureau