NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » 350 crorepatis in Madhya Pradesh poll fray

350 crorepatis in Madhya Pradesh poll fray

November 21, 2013 14:20 IST

The Association for Democratic Reforms, which analysed 683 candidates contesting in the Madhya Pradesh polls, has said that 350 campaigners or 51 per cent are crorepatis.

The average asset per candidate contesting in the 2013 Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections is Rs 3.38 crore. The average asset per candidate for these three political parties in 2008 Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections was Rs 1.07 crore.

The average asset per candidate for the BJP (229 candidates) is Rs 4.04 crore, for 228 Congress candidate the average is Rs 5.33 crore and the average asset of Bahujan Samaj Party (226 candidates) is Rs 76.62 lakh in the 2013 assembly elections. The average asset per candidate for the BJP, INC and BSP in 2008 assembly elections is Rs 1.05 crore, Rs1.59 crore and Rs 57.29 lakh.

The top three candidates with high declared assets are Sanjay Pathak of INC from Vijayraghavgarh constituency with declared assets worth Rs121.32 crore followed by Chetan Kashyap of BJP from RatlamCity constituency with assets worth Rs 120.29 crores and Satyanarayan Patel of INC from Depalpur constituency with assets worth Rs 70.96 crore.

The top three candidates with highest declared liabilities are Sanjay Pathak of INC from Vijayraghavgarh constituency has declared the highest liability worth Rs 48.70 crore followed by Surendra Patawa of BJP from Bhojpur constituency with liabilities worth Rs 34.49 crore and Dr Mohan Yadav of BJP from Ujjain South constituency with liabilities worth Rs 5.11 crore.

143 (21 per cent) out of 683 candidates contesting in the 2013 Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections have not declared their PAN details.

Sanjay Pathak of INC from Vijayraghavgarh constituency has declared the highest income of Rs 8.94 crore in the last Income Tax Returns filed for the year 2012-13 followed by Sanjay Sharma of BJP from Tendukheda constituency with total income of Rs 3.44 crore and Alok Chaturvedi of INC from Chhatarpur with an income of Rs 1.73 crore for the financial year 2012-13.

Vicky Nanjappa in Bengaluru