NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Anti-Yeddyurappa BJP men reach Delhi

Anti-Yeddyurappa BJP men reach Delhi

March 24, 2011 14:07 IST

Bharatiya Janata Party's Karnataka unit President K S Eswarappa and two other leaders who have been gunning for the ouster of Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa are in New Delhi on Thursday to brief the high command on the affairs in the party and its government in the state.

State unit party spokesman C T Ravi and former minister Aravind Limbavali, whom Yeddyurappa unceremoniously dismissed from his ministry, are accompanying Eswrappa.

"There are some problems in the state. Ministers and MLAs have communicated their problems to me. I am going to Delhi to convey their grievances to the high command on these issues," Eswarappa told media persons at the airport earlier.

"The party is important than any individual. We will brief the high command on the problems faced by legislators," Ravi said.

In another development, a beleaguered Yeddyurappa has been holding discussions with his ministerial colleagues on the progress achieved on implementation of the 2010-11

budget proposals.

Of the 27 ministers, only about 20 have responded to the Chief Minister's call, a development that has brought to fore dissensions in the ministry.

Tourism Minister Janardhana Reddy and Health Minister B Sreeramulu are the notable absentees to the meeting and they have joined the ranks of rebels.

Karnataka's representative in New Delhi, V Dhananjaya Kumar disapproved Eswrappa led delegation's visit to the national capital, saying "(there is) no need to go to Delhi and they should have discussed with the Chief Minister whatever grievances they have".

The rebels have launched "oust Yeddyurappa and save BJP campaign" after fresh allegations came out against the Chief Minister.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.