You are here: Rediff Home » India » News » Rajasthan Assembly Election 2008
Search: The Web
  Email this Page

Live Coverage
Update: Congress emerges as single largest party with 96 seats but falls slightly short of majority mark -- 101; BJP bags 78, BSP 6

Update: 06:21 PM: Rajasthan Assembly Speaker Sumitra Singh (BJP) defeated by a margin of 15,040 votes by her Congress rival Rita Choudhary in Mandawa constituency.

Update: 5.26 pm:

Results declared: 142

Congress : 73

BJP : 50

BSP : 4

IND : 11

Others : 4

Update: 4.14 pm: Results are out in 110 of the 200 seats in Rajasthan.

Congress: 60;

BJP: 40;

BSP: 3;

IND: 5;

Others: 2

Update: 4 pm: Congress maintains steady lead at 95; with the BJP at 79

Update: 3 pm: Former chief minister and Congress general secretary Ashok Gehlot wins Sardarpura by over 29,000 votes.

Update: Chief Minister Vasundhra Raje wins Jhalara Patan by a margin of over 32,000 votes.

Update: Congress lead stabilises at 95, 5 short of majority


Update: 12:08 pm: Now the blame game begins in Rajasthan.

Central leaders are questioning the process of selection of candidates, in which Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje is said to have had a greater say.

"It is a hit wicket. I think we went wrong on the candidate selection. This factor has undoubtedly influenced the results," party leader Prakash Javadekar has said.

Update: Arjun Banania of BJP wins in Banswara.

Update: Kanta Carasia of BJP wins Garhi.

Update: "It is sad. The results have been depressing in Rajasthan," BJP spokesperson Ravi Shankar Prasad has said.

Update: 11:10 am: The Congress is leading in 98 seats, BJP in 67. Trends are out in 190 of the 200 constituencies.

Update: 10:25 am: The Congress is already celebrating. Asked who the next Congress chief minister will be if the party gets a majority, Gehlot said the party high command will take a decision on the matter.

Update: 10:23 am: The Vasundhara Raje government appears to be in trouble with the Congress way ahead in 83 seats. The BJP is leading in 49 seats while others are leading in 18 in the 200-member assembly.

Update: 10:10 am: The Congress is leading in 88 seats; the BJP in 64; and others are leading in 21 seats.

Update: 09:51 AM: Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party is leading in four seats, while Janata Dal-United and Communist Party of India-Marxist are ahead in one each. Others were leading in 12 seats.

Update: 09:51 AM: AICC General Secretary Ashok Gehlot, who spearheaded the party's campaign in the state, and Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje are leading from their Sardarpura and Jhalrapatan constituencies respectively.

Update: 09:13 AM: The Congress seems ready to topple the ruling BJP government in the state. It has raced ahead of the ruling party and is leading in 55 seats while the BJP is ahead in 27.

Update: 08:54 AM: Congress leads in 19 seats while the BJP leads in 11.

Update: 08:45 AM: Congress has taken an early lead. The party leads in 12 seats. The BJP leads in 6 while others lead in 2 seats.

Update: 08:30 AM: Initial trends show the BJP leading at one seat.

Update: 08:00 AM: Counting of votes begins for the just-held assembly elections in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Delhi, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram.

Get news updates: What's this?
2008 India Limited. All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer | Feedback