You are here: Rediff Home » India » News » Mizoram Assembly Election 2008
Search: The Web
  Email this Page

Live Coverage
Update: Latest:
Congress: 32
MNF: 4
Others: 4

Update: 5.31 pm: Lawngtlai East: H Zothangliana (Congress) beats Agriculture Minister H Rammawi (MNF) by 911 votes.

Update: 5.22 pm: Zoramthanga loses from both seats

Update: 4 pm: Congress bags absolute majority!

The party has won its 28th seat in the 40 member House, one more than what is required for a 2/3rd majority.

Update: 3.24 pm: Law Minister Ghanshyam Tiwari wins Saganer; beats Suresh Mishra of Congress by 42,811 votes. Sajjan Katara of Congress wins Udaipur rural; beats BJP's Vandana Meena. BJP candidate Siddhi Kumari wins from Bikaner east. BJP nominee Devi Singh Bhati wins Kolayat. BJP candidate Gopal Joshi wins Bikaner west. Congress nominee Virendra Beniwal emerges victorious from Lunkaransar. BJP nominee Vishwnath wins Khajuwal. Congress's Mangla Ram Godara wins Dungargarh. Independent candidate Kanhaiya Lal wins Nokha. Col Sonaram of Congress wins Baytoo; beats Kailash of BJP by 36,000 votes. Congress' Madan wins Pachpadra; beats Amraram of BJP by 12,000 votes. Mangilal of Congress wins Gogunda (ST); beats Hansaram Garasia of BJP by over 10,000 votes. Nandlal of BJP wins Pratapgarh (ST); beats Bahadurlal of Congress by 13,819 votes.

Update: CM Zoramthanga is heading to the governor's house to tender his resignation. He had ruled Mizoram for two consecutive terms.

Update: Congress extends lead in 28 constituencies.

Mizo National Front leads in 5.

Update: ...leads in 27/40 seats

Update: Congress gets simple majority.


Update: Congress headed for a major win.

The party has won all 15 results announced so far in the 40-member House

Update: Zoramthanga lost from Champhai North to Congress' T T Zothansanga.

Update: 12:54 pm: CM Zoramthanga loses to Congress candidate

Update: Three-time former chief minister and state PCC chief Lal Thanhawla headed the list of winners for the Congress romping home from South Tuipui and Serchhip seats in the 40-member Mizoram assembly.

Update: Former CM wins two seats; Speaker bites the dust

Update: Congress has won eight seats. Hmingdailova Khiangte beat Sailothanga Sailo of the UDA by 1,022 votes in Tuirial seat to increase the Congress tally.

Update: 10:15 am: The Congress winners: Lalthanhawla beats J Lalchhuana of the UDA in South Tuipui seat. Lalrinmawia beats H Lalenvela of the MNF in Hachhek constituency. R Lalzirliana beats Lalchhandama Ralte of the MNF in Tawi. R L Pianmawia beats Lalduhoma of the UDS in Tuivawl. P C Lalthanliana beats Deputy Speaker and MNF candidate C Lalrinsanga by 431 votes in Lunglei North seat.

Update: Cong wins 5 seats in Mizoram

Update: 10:10 am: The Congress is leading in 9, the ruling Mizo National Front in 2.

Update: 10:03 AM: P C Lal Thanliana (Congress) wins Lunglei North seat in Mizoram.

Update: 09:40 AM: Congress candidate Lalrinmawia leads by 197 votes over H Lalenvela of the ruling Mizo National Front in Hachhek seat.

Update: 09:24 AM: Mizoram PCC chief Lalthanhawla defeats F Lalthanzuala of the ruling MNF by 96 votes in South Tuipui seat.

Update: 09:20 AM: In South Tupui, Mizoram PCC chief Lalthanhawla is leading by 102 votes over MNF's F Lalthanzuala.

Update: 09:18 AM: In Tawi, MNF's Lalchhandama was leading by just two votes over Congress rival R Lalzirliana and in Tuivawl, the ruling party's candidate Gogo Lalremtluanga was leading over Congress' R L Pianmawia by 20 votes.

Update: 08:58 AM: Congress leads in 3 seats while the Mizo National Front is ahead in 1

Update: 08:55 AM: Congress is leading in 3 seats and MNF is leading in 1 seat

Update: 08:50 AM: Congress is leading in 2 seats

Update: 08:41 Congress is leading in one seat

Update: 08:00 AM: Counting of votes begins for the just-held assembly elections in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Delhi, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram.

Get news updates: What's this?
2008 India Limited. All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer | Feedback