You are here: Rediff Home » India » News » Delhi Assembly Election 2008
Search: The Web
  Email this Page

Live Coverage
Update: Latest:
Congress: 42
BJP: 23
Others: 4

Update: 03:35 PM: Congress wins majority in Delhi.

Update: 03:14 PM: Congress's Jaswant Singh who polled 3,4662 wins Narela seat against BSP's Sharad Kumar who got 3,3824. In Patel Nagar, Congress emerges victorious with Rajesh Lilothia defeating closest rival, BJP's Anita Arya by a margin of 9,508 votes.

Update: 03:08 PM: Congress wins simple majority in Delhi.

Update: 03:00 PM: North Delhi's Timarpur was won by Congress candidate Surender Pal Singh who defeated BJP's Surya Prakash Khatri by a margin of 2,416. South Delhi's R K Puram seat has been won by Barkha Singh of Congress who defeated Radhey Sham Sharma of BJP by a margin of 9,284 votes.

Update: 02:56 PM: Congress bagged Kasturba Nagar seat where Neeraj Bosaya defeated BJP's Sushil Chaudhary by a margin of 2,354 votes. In East Delhi's Vishwas Nagar, Nasseb Singh of Congress won by a margin of 9,633 votes against BJP's Om Prakash Sharma.

Update: 02:55 PM: BJP state unit chief Harsh Vardhan wins Krishna Nagar constituency defeating Deepika Khullar of Congress by a margin of 3,204 votes. Shakur Basti seat also goes in favour of BJP. Here, Shyam Lal Garg defeated S C Vats of the Congress by 3,995 votes.

Update: 02:50 PM: Former DPCC chief Rambabu Sharma of Congress wins Rohtas Nagar seat against BJP's Alok Kumar with a margin of 23,264 votes. Babarpur seat falls in favour of BJP where Naresh Gaur defeated Anil Kumar Vasishth of Congress by a margin of 3,810 votes.

Update: 02:40 PM: BJP concedes defeat in the Delhi elections The party says the electorate had given a 'clear vote in favour of the Congress'.

Update: 02:30 PM: BJP chief ministerial candidate V K Malhotra wins from Greater Kailash constituency.

Update: 02:15 PM: Dikshit defeated BJP's Vijay Jolly by a margin of 14,078 votes. She secured 39,747 votes.

Update: 02:10 PM: Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit wins from New Delhi constituency.

Update: 01:43 PM: In Matiala constituency, Congress candidate Sumesh Shoukin defeats Kamaljit of BJP by 6,629 votes. BJP's Sahab Singh Chouhan defeats Bhishm Sharma of the Congress by a close margin of 546 votes in Ghonda constituency.

Update: 01:40 PM: BJP's Jai Bhagwan Agarwal wins in Rohini constituency, defeating Bijendra Jindal of the Congress by 25,774 votes. BJP also won Rithala. Shambhu Dayal Sharma of the party defeats Congress candidate Kulwant Rana by 26,328 votes. Tilak Nagar also goes the BJP way with the party's O P Babbar defeating daughter-in-law Anita Babbar of Congress by a margin of 12,118.

Update: 01:39 PM: In Malviya Nagar, Congress candidate Kiran Walia defeats BJP's Ram Bhaj by 4739 votes.

Update: 01:38 PM: Raj Kumar Chauhan of Congress defeats BJP's Yogesh Aatrey by 30,145 votes in Mongolpuri constituency.

Update: 01:37 PM: In Kalkaji, Congress candidate Subhash Chopra defeats nearest rival Jai Gopal Abrol of BJP by 13,389 votes.

Update: 01:14 PM: Om Prakash Chautala-led INLD springs a surprise by winning Najafgarh seat while BSP bags the Gokulpuri seat, defeating Congress in both the seats.


Update: 12:38 PM: Assembly Speaker Chaudhury Prem Singh defeats BJP's Suresh Chand by a margin of 5,107 votes in Ambedkar Nagar seat.

Update: 12:36 PM: Congress wins Chattarpur, Kondli, Deoli and Seemapuri constituencies. In Chattarpuri, Balram Tanwar defeated BJP's Brahm Singh Tanwar by a margin of 4,576 votes.Ravinder Singh Lovely, son of senior Congress leader and former Union Home Minister Buta Singh, won from Deoli seat defeating BSP's Sreelal by 16,628 votes. In Seemapuri, Vir Singh Dhingan won over BJP's Chadrapal Singh by a margin of 19,268 votes. In Kondli, Amreesh Singh Gautam defeated BJP's Dushyant Gautam 14,983 votes.

Update: 12:30 PM: "I congratulate the people of Delhi and many many thanks to them for their support and affection for the Congress," says Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dixit at her residence as jubilant party supporters danced to drumbeats and burst firecrackers.

Update: 12:18 PM: BJP's sitting MLA Dharam Dev Solanki defeats Congress' Mahender Yadav

Update: 12:17 PM: In Model Town, Congress candidate Kanwar Karan Singh defeats BJP's Bholanath Vij by a margin of 2,996 votes. Indian National Lok Dal's Bharat Singh defeats Congress' Kanwal Singh Yadav by 12,453 votes while BJP registers victory in Palam and Trilokpuri.

Update: 12:16 PM: Delhi Minister Mangat Ram Singhal wins from Adarsh Nagar defeating BJP's Ravinder Singh by a margin of 4,435 votes.

Update: 12:15 PM: BJP's Satyaprakash wins Bijwasan seat defeating Congress' sitting MLA Vijay Singh Lochav by a margin of 2,003 votes.

Update: 12:10 PM: Mahabal Mishra of Congress wins Dwarka seat defeating BJP's Pradyuman Rajput by 13,981 votes.

Update: 12:08 PM: BJP opens account in Delhi polls with party candidate Ravinder Bansal winning from Shalimar Bagh. He defeated Congress' S K Gupta by 19,905 votes.

Update: 11:38 AM: Congress appears set to retain power in Delhi. Th party leads in 36 seats while the BJP is ahead in 27. Others lead in 6 seats

Update: 11:03 AM: Two-time MLA Mahabal Mishra defeats his nearest BJP rival Pradyuman Rajput by 13,981 votes.

Update: 10:42 AM: Tarvinder Singh Marwah of Congress wins Jungpura seat.

Update: 10:26 AM: Mukesh Sharma of the Congress wins Uttam Nagar seat in Delhi assembly elections.

Update: 10:16 AM: Ministers Harun Yusuf (Ballimaran) and Raj Kumar Chouhan (Mangolpuri), who were initially trailing, are now ahead in the race.

Update: 09:41 AM: Lok Janshakti Party's Shoaib Iqbal is leading in Matia Mahal while his party colleague Khurram Iqbal is ahead in Chandni Chowk.

Update: 09:40 AM: Delhi Assembly Speaker Chaudhury Prem Singh, who has never lost an election since 1958, is leading in Ambedkar Nagar while in Jungpura, BJP candidate Manjinder Singh Sirsa is ahead against Congress veteran Tarvinder Singh Marwah.

Update: 09:27 AM: Ministers A K Walia (Laxmi Nagar), Arvinder Singh Lovely (Gandhi Nagar) and Yoganand Shastri (Mehrauli) are ahead in the race while their colleague Harun Yusuf is trailing in Ballimaran.

Update: 09:35 AM: Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit and BJP's Chief Ministerial candidate V K Malhotra are leading in their constituencies New Delhi and Greater Kailash respectively.

Update: 09:26 AM: A battle to watch out for. The Congress and the BJP are at par with leads in 20 seats each.

Update: 09:07 AM: Congress has gained a slight edge over the BJP. The party is leading in 15 seats while the BJP is ahead in 9

Update: 09:01 AM: Opposition BJP is leading in two seats in Delhi with Speaker Chaudhury Prem Singh of Congress trailing in early trends in the assembly elections.

Update: 08:53 AM: Congress leads in 5 seats while the BJP leads in 4

Update: 08:44 AM: Both the BJP and Congress are leading on one seat each.

Update: 08:00 AM: Counting of votes begins for the just-held assembly elections in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Delhi, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram.

Get news updates: What's this?
2008 India Limited. All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer | Feedback