You are here: Rediff Home » India » News » Chhatisgarh Assembly Election 2008
Search: The Web
  Email this Page

Live Coverage
Update: Final update for the day:
BJP: 49
Congress: 38
Others: 3

Update: 05:51 PM: Veemram Mandavi of BJP defeats Manish Kunjam of CPI by a margin of 12,008 votes in Dantewada constituency.

Update: 05:25 PM: Kuldeep Singh Juneja of Congress beats Sachidanand Upasane of the BJP by a margin of 1,436 votes in Raipur (North) constituency.

Update: 05:15 PM: Chhattisgarh Assembly Speaker Prem Prakash Pande of BJP loses to Congress candidate Badruddin Qureshi by a margin of 8,863 votes in Bhilai City.

Update: 04:40 PM: CM Raman Singh attributes BJP's victory as people's victory and thanks the two crore people of his state for electing BJP in the state for the second time.

Update: Congress concedes defeat in Chhattisgarh, says former CM Ajit Jogi.

Update: 03:30 PM: Agni Chandrakar of Congress wrests Mahasamund seat from BJP's Moti Sahu by a margin of 5044 votes.

Update: 02:48 PM: Saroja Manohar Rathore of Congress wrests Sakti constituency upsetting state Agriculture Minister Megharam Sahu by a margin of 9,392 votes.

Update: 02:15 PM: BJP wins the Dhalsiwa constituency. BJP candidate Devjbhai Patel won by 6,339 votes against Chhatrapal Simour of Congress.

Update: 01:45 PM: Congress MLA Rajen Panbhoi defeated by BJP's Mahesh Ghagra from Bijapur by a margin of 10,510 votes.


Update: 01:00 PM: A clearer picture seems to be emerging in Chhattisgarh with the BJP surging ahead of the Congress and leading in 47 seats. The Congress is ahead in 38 seats.

Update: 12:28 PM: BJP leads in 45 seats while Congress is ahead in 40 seats. Other are leading in 5 seats. To secure majority either the BJP or Congress must win 46 seats.

Update: 11:57 AM: Leader of opposition Mahendra Karma is trailing by 942 votes against BJP's greenhorn Dheema Ram Mandami in Naxal-infested Dantewada.

Update: 11:44 AM: Among the political heavyweights who are leading are BJP leader and Chief Minister Raman Singh in Rajnandgaon, his predecessor Ajit Jogi (Congress) in Marwahi, Home Minister Ram Vichar Netam in Ramanujganj (ST), Speaker Prem Prakash Pandey in Bhilai city, Sports Minister Brij Mohan Agarwal (Raipur City South) and Health Minister Amar Agarwal (Bilaspur).

Update: 11:41 AM: The Congress and the BJP are neck and neck in Chhattisgarh. Both parties are leading in 42 seats each. Others are leading in 2 seats.

Update: 11:08 AM: The BJP is ahead in 45 seats while Congress is close by at 42.

Update: 10:11 AM: Leader of opposition Mahendra Karma is trailing by 942 votes against BJP's greenhorn Dheema Ram Mandami in Naxal-infested Dantewada.

Update: 09:42 AM: State Congress president Dhanendra Sahu is trailing in Dhalsiwa in Raipur.

Update: 09:30 AM: Congress leader Ajit Jogi and Renu are ahead in Marwahi and Kota seats respectively. Former state CM Shyama Charan Shukla's son Amitesh (Cong) is trailing in Rajim.

Update: 09:05 AM: BJP 17 , Congress 15 and BSP 1

Update: 09:05 AM: BJP is leading in Bhanupratapur, Kanker, Antagarh, Jaspur and Kunkuri while Congress is ahead in Bijapur and Balodabazar.

Update: 09:01 AM: We seem to see a neck to neck fight between the BJP and Congress

Update: 09:00 AM: BJP is leading in 11 and Congress in 10 seats as per the trends available till now

Update: 08:57 AM: Congress and the BJP are fighting a close battle. The BJP is slightly ahead of its rival. Its leading in 11 seats while the Congress leads in 10.

Update: 8:50 AM: BJP is leading in 9 seats and Congress is leading 6 seats

Update: 08:50 Congress is leading in 6 seats and BJP in 6 seats

Update: 08:30 AM: Initial trends show the Congress leading at 3 of the 90 seats and BJP leading at 1 seat.

Update: 08:00 AM: Counting of votes begins for the just-held assembly elections in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Delhi, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram.

Get news updates: What's this?
2008 India Limited. All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer | Feedback