Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:

Home > India > News > PTI

   Discuss   |      Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop

West Bengal: CPM loses bypoll in Malda, retains Para

January 09, 2009 15:47 IST
Last Updated: January 09, 2009 16:45 IST

Related Articles
CPIM loses Nandigram

Congress candidate Mausam Benazir Nur won the Sujapur assembly by-election in Malda district in West Bengal defeating her nearest rival Sheikh Ketabuddin of the Communist Party of India-Marxist by 21,205 votes. The CPM lost the Nandigram bypolls as well.

Nur, daughter of Rubi Nur whose death as the sitting MLA from the constituency necessitated the bypoll, bagged 74,935 votes against Ketabuddin's 53,730 votes.

Security deposits of other candidates in fray were forfeited.

The Congress has been winning the seat since Independence except for two occasions when independents were victorious.

The CPI-M retained the Para seat in Purulia district as its candidate Minu Bauri defeated her nearest Jharkhand Mukti
Morcha-Soren nominee Charan Bauri by over 40,000 votes.
The CPI-M candidate received 63,637 votes while Charan Bauri got 22,850 votes.
The by-poll was held after sitting CPI-M MLA Bilasibala Sahi vacated the seat following her election as Sabhadipati of Purulia.

© Copyright 2008 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
   Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop