Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333

Home > India > News > PTI

   Discuss   |      Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop

2 Lok Sabha members disqualified under anti-defection law

September 12, 2008 21:22 IST

Related Articles
Trust Vote Complete Coverage

Congress MP Kuldeep Bishnoi, son of former Haryana chief minister Bhajan Lal, and rebel Samajwadi Party MP Jaiprakash Rawat have been disqualified from the Lok Sabha under the anti-defection law.

Bishnoi, who along with his father, raised a banner of revolt against the Congress leadership, later joined a party floated by the former Haryana chief minister. He also voted against the United Progressive Alliance in the trust vote in Lok Sabha on July 22.

Rawat, elected from Mohanlal Ganj in Uttar Pradesh [Images], had also revolted against his party.

Both the parties had filed disqualification petitions under the anti-defection law.

While Bishnoi was disqualified with effect from September 10, Rawat was disqualified on Thursday, a Lok Sabha press release said on Thursday night.

Speaker Somnath Chatterjee [Images] heard the two MPs before giving his decision.

© Copyright 2008 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
   Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop