Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333

Home > India > News > PTI

   Discuss   |      Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop

Pakistan political crisis: Chronology

September 06, 2008 20:55 IST

Following are some of the key dates in Pakistan's political crisis:

March 9, 2007: President Pervez Musharraf [Images] removes Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry, sparking nationwide protests. Chaudhry reinstated by Supreme Court in July.

October 6, 2007: Parliament elects Musharraf as President for a fresh five-year term.

October 18, 2007: Former premier and Pakistan People's Party leader Benazir Bhutto [Images] returns from exile.

November 3, 2007: Musharraf imposes state of emergency and suspends Constitution. Judges of the Supreme Court, who were set to rule on the legality of his election, sacked.

November 25, 2007: Former premier Nawaz Sharif returns from exile.

November 28, 2007: Under domestic and international pressure, Musharraf doffs uniform, becomes a civilian president.

December 15, 2007: State of emergency lifted.

December 27, 2007: Benazir Bhutto assassinated during an election rally.

February 18, 2008: Landmark general elections bring Musharraf opponents PPP and PML-N of Nawaz Sharif to power.

March 24, 2008: Parliament elects Bhutto aide Yousuf Raza Gilani [Images] as prime minister.

August 7, 2008: Ruling coalition leaders announce plans to seek Musharraf's impeachment in parliament.

August 18, 2008: Musharraf announces resignation.

August 22, 2008: Pakistan's Election Commission announces that presidential elections will be held on September 6.

August 23, 2008: Asif Ali Zardari, PPP chief and widower of Benazir Bhutto, decides to stand for the presidency.

August 25, 2008: PML-N pulls out of the PPP-led alliance, accusing Zardari of reneging on promises to restore judges deposed during last year's emergency.

August 28, 2008: Pakistan's Election Commission accepts the nomination papers of Zardari, PML-N candidate Saeed-uz-Zaman Siddiqui and PML-Q leader Mushahid Hussain Sayed for the presidential polls, setting the stage for a triangular contest.

September 6, 2008: Zardari wins the presidential elections.

© Copyright 2008 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
   Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop