Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > India > News > PTI

SP, TDP members disrupt proceedings; RS adjourned thrice

March 05, 2008 12:04 IST

The Rajya Sabha on Wednesday saw three adjournments in quick succession as Samajwadi Party members disrupted proceedings over the 'selective targeting' in the name of breach of privilege.

Soon after Chairman Hamid Ansari made obituary references, SP members were up on their feet protesting over privilege complaints made against them by seven members including Santosh Bagrodia of the Congress, Shiv Sena leader Manohar Joshi and Nationalist Congress Party member Supriya Sule, for disrupting Question Hour last week.
The SP members, led by Shahid Siddiqui, trooped into the well of the House, claiming they were being 'selectively targeted' as such acts in the past have not been taken note of.

Ansari, who had earlier referred the breach of privilege complaint to the Privileges Committee for examination, pleaded for the commencement of the Question Hour. But SP members, who were supported by Telugu Desam Party members, continued disrupting the proceedings. Ansari was forced to adjourn the House for 10 minutes.

When the House reassembled, SP members again trooped into the well, demanding withdrawal of the privilege notices. With pleas of taking up of Question Hour going unheeded, Bagrodia, who was in the Chair, adjourned the House for 15 minutes.

Bagrodia had to adjourn the House again till noon as the members continued to protests. The Question Hour could not be taken up due to the disruptions.

Ansari had, in an unprecedented move on February 29, referred the breach of privilege complaint by the seven members to the Privileges Committee for examination.

The members from Congress, NCP and Shiv Sena had complained against some members for allegedly not allowing them to speak and clarify doubts during Question Hour on February 27.

Congress members Bagrodia, Vijay J Darda, J D Seelam, Viplove Thakur and Syeda Anwara Taimer, Shiv Sena leader Manohar Joshi and Nationalist Congress Party member Supriya Sule had complained to Ansari.

© Copyright 2008 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.