Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333

Home > India > News > PTI

   Discuss   |      Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop

LS Secretariat serves notice to 6 SP MPs

July 31, 2008 20:47 IST

Six lawmakers belonging to the Samajwadi Party, who voted against the confidence motion, were served notices by the Lok Sabha Secretariat on Thursday, taking the number of such members of different parties to 15.

Where did the currency in bribery scam come from?

The party, which has already expelled the lawmakers, made the demand for their disqualification in a representation to the Speaker last week.

Video: The scam that rocked the country

The MPs are Jai Prakash (Mohanlalganj), S P Singh Baghel (Jalesar), Raj Narain Budholia (Hamirpur), Afzal Ansari (Ghazipur), Ateeq Ahmed (Phulpur) and Munnawar Hussain (Muzaffarnagar).

Eight Bharatiya Janata Party MPs and one from Biju Janata Dal were served notices earlier. There were in all 24 opposition lawmakers, who either voted for the government or abstained.

© Copyright 2008 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
   Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop