Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333

Home > India > News > PTI

   Discuss   |      Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop

BJP, BJD, TDP expel errant MPs, others to follow suit

July 23, 2008 16:55 IST
Last Updated: July 24, 2008 15:05 IST

Related Articles
Trust Vote

Cracking the whip, the Bharatiya Janata Party on Wednesday summarily expelled eight of its MPs who cross-voted or abstained during the trust vote as shocked opposition parties got down to fix errant MPs whose actions helped the United Progressive Alliance government survive.

Biju Janata Dal, a constituent in the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance, expelled Harihar Swain dubbing him as a "betrayer" while Telugu Desam Party MP M Jagannatham also faced similar action for defying party whip.

Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam sources said in Chennai that the party will be seeking the disqualification of two of its MPS -- L Ganesan and Gingee Ramachandran -- for voting for the government.

Stung by his fellow MPs switching loyalties, BJP's prime ministerial candidate L K Advani [Images] said it sparked so much outrage in the party that it did not take more than five minutes to proceed against the MPs.

The eight members were among 24 opposition MPs who either voted for the government or abstained or remained absent.

"If there was no cross-voting, the government would have lost the trust vote," Advani told reporters a day after the Congress-led UPA government sailed through the confidence vote.

Wasting no time, Advani said that action was also being taken to seek the disqualification of the eight MPs from the Lok Sabha for violation of party whip.

TheĀ  MPs expelled are Brijbhushan Sharan Singh (Balrampur), Manjunath (Dharwad), Chandrabhan Singh (Damoh), H T Sangliana (Bangalore north), Manorama Madhwaraj (Udipi), Harisingh RathodĀ (Yavatmal), Babubhai Katara (Dohad) and SomabhaiPatel (Surendranagar).

The names of the eight MPs, half of whom who abstained were announced by BJP president Rajnath Singh at a news conference.

© Copyright 2008 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
   Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop