Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333

Home > India > News > PTI

   Discuss   |      Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop

On leave today: Vajpayee & 5 other MPs

July 22, 2008 13:07 IST

The Lok Sabha on Tuesday approved leave of absence to six members, including former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, for not attending the House during previous sessions.

Coverage: An Alliance in Crisis

The recommendation for the leave of absence was made by the Committee on Absence of Members from the Sittings of the Lok Sabha, Speaker Somnath Chatterjee said.

While Vajpayee did not attend the House during the Winter Session last year and Budget Session this year, two other BJP MPs -- Kailash Joshi and D C Srikantappa -- who were not present during the last two sessions of the House.

The remaining three MPs are Mohd Shahabuddin (RJD), Ateeq Ahmed (SP) and Tukaram Ganpatrao Renge Patil (Shiv Sena), did not attend the previous two sessions.

After taking permission of the House, Chatterjee announced that their leave was granted.

© Copyright 2008 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
   Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop