Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > India > News > PTI

Bypolls to 7 LS and 22 assembly seats in May

April 16, 2008 17:25 IST

Related Articles
UP: BSP wins in Colonelganj, Bilgram by-polls

Bypolls to seven Lok Sabha seats, including four in Andhra Pradesh, and 22 assembly seats spread over seven states would be held in May, the Election Commission announced on Wednesday.

Elections to four Lok Sabha seats -- Karimnagar, Hanamkonda, Warangal and Adilabad -- and 18 assembly seats in Andhra Pradesh following resignation by Telangana Rashtra Samiti members would be held on May 29.

The EC said bypolls to three other Lok Sabha seats -- Hamirpur (HP), Thane (Maharashtra) and Tura (Meghalaya) as also four assembly seats -- Indri, Gohana and Adampur in Haryana and Amritsar [Images] South (Amritsar) would take place on May 22.

The 18 assembly seats that would go to polls on May 29 are: Therlam, Khairatabad, Jadcherla, Vikarabad (SC), Musheerabad, Secunderabad, Siddipet, Dommat, Ramayampet, Yellareddey, Dichpalli, Khanapur (ST), Myadaram (SC), Huzurabad, Kamalapur, Cheriyal, Ghanpur (SC) and Alair (SC).

The TRS members had resigned from Lok Sabha and assembly seats last month in support of their demand for carving out a separate Telangana state.

As per the schedule announced by the EC, notification for Parliamentary and assembly seats in Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Maharashtra, Meghalaya and Punjab would be issued on April 28.

© Copyright 2008 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.