Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > News > PTI

UP assembly by-polls: SP gets Gannaur, BSP wins in Swar Tanda

September 03, 2007 14:14 IST

The Samajwadi Party has won the Gunnaur assembly seat by defeating the Bahujan Samaj Party while the BSP has wrested the Swar Tanda seat from the SP in the Uttar Pradesh assembly by-polls held on August 31.

The counting of votes for the Farrukhabad assembly seat was going on and the results were expected by late afternoon, sources said in Lucknow on Monday.

By-polls were held in three assembly constituencies -- Farrukhabad, Gannaur in Budaon and Swar Tanda in Rampur district.

Samajwadi Party candidate Pradeep Yadav defeated his nearest BSP rival Deepak Yadav by over 13,500 votes in Gunnaur, said sources. Former chief minister Mulayam Singh had won from Gunnaur in the recent assembly elections, but he vacated the seat as he had also contested and won from Bharthana.

BSP candidate Kazim Ali Khan won the Swar Tanda assembly seat in Rampur district, defeating his nearest BJP rival by over 49,000 votes. Incidentally, Khan had won the Swar Tanda seat in the recent assembly elections by a margin of 16,000 votes on a SP ticket. However, by-polls had to be held in the constituency after Khan resigned from SP and joined BSP.

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.