Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > News > Report

BJP-JD(S)coalition govt in Karnataka: A timeline

October 06, 2007 15:16 IST

The Bharatiya Janata Party's yet another attempt to have its first chief minister in South India has failed after the Janata Dal (S) refused to hand over power as promised in Karnataka. The alliance, which was formed 20 months ago, had an eventful run.

Vicky Nanjappa looks back at the tumultous period:   

January 18, 2006: Son rise in Karnataka, with Deve Gowda's son, H D Kumaraswamy entering into a pact with the BJP allegedly against the wishes of his father. Stakes claim to form the government. Same day, JD(S) leader  Deve Gowda suspends Kumaraswamy and 39 other MLAs.

January 19: Governor asks Kumaraswamy to prove his majority.

January 27: Speaker of the Legislative Assembly recognises Kumaraswamy as the Janata Dal (S) Legislature Party leader.

January 29: Governor invites Kumaraswamy to form government.

February 3: Kumaraswamy sworn in as chief minister and BJP leader B S Yediyurappa as deputy chief minister.

Feb 9:  BJP-JD(S) combine wins vote of confidence.

Feb 17: Ministers inducted into government.

July 7: BJP MLA from Bellary alleges that the chief minister took Rs 150 crore as bribe. The BJP suspends Reddy from party.

December 25: Gowda revokes suspension of Kumaraswamy and 39 JD(S) MLAs.

September 25, 2007: BJP minister Sriramulu alleges that CM had tried to kill him.

September 26: CM says power will not be transferred if action is not taken against Sriramulu.

September 28: BJP leader Yeshwanth Sinha arrives in Bangalore to diffuse crisis.

September 29: Sriraumulu resigns. CM says it is not enough.

September 30: Gowda-Sinha talks fail. Sinha says JD(S) must hand over power on October 2.

October 2: CM refuses to step down. Says BJP will have to clarify various issues. BJP ministers resign.

October 4: Kumarawamy says that there will be no transfer of power.
October 5: The Cabinet meets, minus BJP ministers. Kumarawamy decides
to convene special Assembly on October 18.

October 6: Gowda says power cannot be transferred. BJP decides to withdraw