Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > News > PTI

Congress announces candidates for second phase of Gujarat polls

November 26, 2007 09:54 IST

Former deputy chief minister of Gujarat Narharibhai Amin, All India Congress Committee Secretary Siddharth Patel and former Union Minister Bharatkumar Makwana figure in the list of 50 Congress candidates for the second phase of Gujarat Assembly election announced by the All India Congress Committee late on Sunday night.

Senior Congress leader Nareshkumar Raval will contest from Mehsana, while Mukeshkumar Gadhvi, son of former Union Minister late B K Gadhvi, will stand from Danta.

The party is, however, yet to name its candidate from Maninagar to take on Chief Minister Narendra Modi. AICC General Secretary B K Hariprasad said the nominee for the seat would be announced on Monday.

Nine seats have been left to Sharad Pawar's [Images] Nationalist Congress Party, said party sources.

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.