Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > News > PTI

Gujarat poll: 6 BJP rebels figure in Congress' second list

November 21, 2007 16:36 IST

Related Articles
Gujarat Elections, 2007

The names of six Bharatiya Janata Party rebels figure in the second list of 19 candidates released by the Congress party for the first phase of Gujarat assembly polls to be held in the state on December 11.

Congress has given a ticket to BJP rebel Dhirubhai Gajera and five others, an All India Congress Committee release said in Ahmedabad on Wednesday.

Gajera who won on the BJP ticket from Surat city north, will this time contest as a Congress candidate from the same constituency in South Gujarat.

The other BJP rebels from Saurashtra region whose names figure in the list are Babubhai Tanti (Dhari constituency), Becharbhai Bhadani (Lathi), Bavkubhai N Undhad (Babra).

All the three had won the 2002 assembly elections on the BJP tickets from the same constituencies.

Two others -- Gopalbhai Dhua (Mundra - SC) and Narendrasinh Jadeja (Abdasa) are rebel leaders from Kutch and had won as BJP candidates in 2002.

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.