Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > News > PTI

Goa: Congress wins Mormugao LS bypoll

November 03, 2007 11:47 IST

Related Articles
Goa Assembly Elections

Congress candidate Francisco Sardinha on Saturday won the Mormugao Lok Sabha seat by a margin of over 40,000 votes.

Sardinha defeated his nearest rival Wilfred Mesquita of the Bharatiya Janata Party.

While Sardinha polled 1,18,583 votes, Mesquita could get only 77,681 votes. Two independent candidates -- Hamza Khan and Jawahar Dias could garner 1,945 and 2,986 votes, respectively.

The seat fell vacant after the then Congress Member of Parliament Churchill Alemao resigned on May 8, 2007, to join state politics.

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.