Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > News > PTI

AIADMK nominates Maithreyan, Elavarasan for Rajya Sabha

May 27, 2007 20:48 IST

Related Articles
More news: Tamil Nadu
Is she the DMK's rising star?

Former All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam MP V Maithreyan and A Elavarasan are the party's nominees for the June 15 Rajya Sabha polls from Tamil Nadu.

Maithreyan had joined AIADMK after resigning from BJP, protesting against the party high command's decision to align with the DMK for the 1999 Lok Sabha polls.

He was made a Rajya Sabha MP in an interim vacancy in 2002 by the AIADMK.

Elavarasan is the Perambalur district secretary of the party.

The names of the candidates were announced  in a statement released by AIADMK chief Jayalalithaa soon after her return from Udhgamandalam on Sunday.

Earlier on her arrival at the Chennai airport, she told reporters that the DMK's decision to contest only four Rajya Sabha seats was good.

Asked for her comments on the DMK's decision to field Chief Minister M Karunanidhi's daughter Kanimozhi, Jayalalithaa said she would comment on it later.

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.