Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > News > PTI

BSP sweeps LS bypolls

May 11, 2007 23:38 IST

Capping its impressive showing in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections, the Bahujan Samaj Party also swept the three Lok Sabha bypolls for Mirzapur, Robertsganj and Bilhaur.

BSP candidate Ramesh Dubey won the Mirzapur Lok Sabha bypoll defeating his nearest Samajwadi Party rival Ram Rati Bind by over 42,000 votes.

In Robertsganj, BSP's Bhailal Kol beat his nearest SP rival Pakauri Kol by over 40,000 votes.

BSP candidate Anil Shukla Varsi defeated his nearest rival Lal Singh Tomar, who belongs to SP but was in the fray as an independent candidate, by 26,012 votes.

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.