Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > News > PTI

NPF, Cong win Nagaland bypolls

March 12, 2007 20:02 IST

Ruling Nagaland People's Front and opposition Congress in Nagaland on Monday won the Dimapur-I and Tuensang Sadar-II assembly seats, bypolls for which were held on March 8.

NPF candidate Atomi Zhimomi, son of state Industry and Commerce Minister Khekiho Zhimomi, defeated his closest rival Aheto Yeptho of Congress by 3,656 votes in a five-cornered contest, office of the chief electoral officer of Nagaland said.

At Tuensang Sadar-I, Congress candidate Kejong defeated his closest rival H Wonoto of NPF by nearly 1,000 votes in a four-cornered contest. The bypolls to the two seats were necessitated following demise of Bharatiya Janata Party legislators Hokishe Sema and Lakiumong.

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.