You are here: Rediff Home » India » News » PTI
Search: The Web
  Discuss this Article   |      Email this Article   |      Print this Article

B C Khanduri sworn in as Uttarakhand CM
Related Articles
2007 Three-State Assembly Polls

Get news updates:What's this?
March 08, 2007 11:03 IST
Last Updated: March 08, 2007 12:36 IST

B C Khanduri, who was credited with leading Bharatiya Janata Party to victory in the Assembly elections, was on Thursday sworn in as the chief minister of Uttarakhand along with another party leader who was given Cabinet rank.

Governor Sudarshan Agarwal administered the oath of office and secrecy to 72-year-old Khanduri, a retired major general, and Prakash Pant, an legislator from Pithoragarh, at a function attended by former prime minister A B Vajpayee, BJP chief Rajnath Singh and other top party leaders.

A host of sadhus and sants and BJP's actress-turned-MP Hema Malini were also among those who attended the function.

Earlier, it was speculated that at least half-a-dozen ministers would take oath in Thursday's function. Party sources said an expansion of the council of ministers would be taken at a later date.

Khanduri, the first Garhwali leader to assume the chief ministership in the state, will be the fourth chief minister of the hill state where BJP has 34 seats out of the 69 constituencies, which went to polls on February 21.

Uttarakhand has a 70-member Assembly.

BJP has emerged as the single largest party in the hill state with 34 seats out of the 69 constituencies, which went to polls.

The BJP secured the support of three-member Uttarakhand Kranti Dal and two independents.

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
 Email this Article      Print this Article

© 2007 India Limited. All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer | Feedback