Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > News > PTI

Manipur: Ibobi Singh submits list of 37 MLAs in his support

March 01, 2007 16:50 IST

Related Articles
2007 Three-State Assembly Polls

Newly-elected Congress Legislature Party leader O Ibobi Singh on Thursday submitted a list of 37 legislators in his support to Governor S S Sidhu after staking claim to form the next government in Manipur.

The 37 MLAs supporting him in the 60-member House, include 30 from his party, the Congress, four of the Communist Party of India and three from the Rashtriya Janata Dal, party sources said.

He drove to Raj Bhavan after a meeting of the leaders of the Congress, CPI and RJD.

Official sources said Ibobi Singh is likely to be sworn on Friday evening.

Ibobi Singh had staked claim to form the government on Wednesday evening after the eighth Manipur Assembly was dissolved.

A meeting of the three parties would be held again to finalise the ministry-making process, the sources said.

RJD state unit vice president Helaludin Khan has submitted a letter to state Congress chief Gaikhangam stating that his party would like to join the ministry, sources in the party said.

Helaludin Khan was elected leader of the RJD legislature party and Ph Parijat Singh that of the CPI legislature party, according to the parties.

Congress sources said discussions were held on Wednesday night about the name of the new coalition.

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.