Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > News > PTI

Mayawati elected unopposed to Assembly

June 28, 2007 16:42 IST

Related Articles
Mayawati files nomination, set to win UP Council bypoll

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister and Bahujan Samaj Party president Mayawati and her Cabinet colleague Swami Prasad Maurya were on Thursday declared elected unopposed to the state Legislative Council in the bypoll for two vacant seats.

Vidhan Sabha Principal Secretary and Returning Officer R P Pandey declared Mayawati and Maurya elected unopposed after the expiry of the time for withdrawal of nominations on Thursday.

No other nominations were filed for the council bypolls. The seats had fallen vacant following the deaths of BSP member B R Verma and Samajwadi Party member Vikramaditya Pandey.

While Mayawati had not contested the recent Assembly elections, Maurya had lost from Dalmau Assembly constituency in Rae Bareli district.

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.