Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > News > PTI

Goa polls: Some kept it all in the family

Rupesh Samant in Panaji | June 05, 2007 17:52 IST

Related Articles
Coverage: Goa Assembly Elections

Two families created history in the just concluded polls as they managed to get both their members elected on the Goa state Assembly.

Both Goa Chief Minister Pratapsingh Rane and his son Vishwajeet fought successfully from Poriem and Valpoi constituencies respectively.

Vishwajeet contested as an Independent candidate from Valpoi constituency after he was denied Congress ticket while
the chief minister was a Congress candidate in Poriem.

Similarly, Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party has both the legislators belonging to the same family -- Dhavlikars.
Ramkrishna Dhavlikar, minister in the Rane cabinet, managed to retain his Madkai seat for third consecutive time while his younger brother Dipak defeated BJP's Vishwas Satarkar in Priol constituency.Dipak is the first time entrant into Goa Assembly.

Besides these two success stories, rest of the families had bitter experience this election.

In case of Monserratte husband wife duo, the husband won from Taleigao constituency while wife could not sail through
in St Cruz constituency.

Controversial former town and country planning minister Atanasio Monserratte, who was alleged to be mastemind behind regional plan 2011, had rebelled from Congress and joined United Goans Democratic Party as Congress denied ticket to his wife. Both the husband wife duo had contested on UGDP tickets. 

Sanvordem constituency saw bitter family history where Vinay Tendulkar (BJP) was crossing swords with his brother-in-law Pradip Naik (Congress). The voters rejected both the family members and gave landslide victory to independent candidate Anil Salgaoncar, a mine owner, who had lost 2002 elections.

Similarly, Dayanand Narvekar, minister in Rane cabinet, who contested on Congress ticket from Aldona constituency, won the seat while his brother Subhash, who was contesting on Janata Dal (S) ticket from Mapusa constituency lost to BJP's sitting MLA Fransisco D'Souza.

Dayanand Narvekar, had pulled up his sleeves to get victory for his brother and had even addressed public rally from JD (S) platform, apparently, revolting against the party's stand.

The Deshprabhu brothers contesting from Pernem and Mandrem constituency, lost. Jitendra Deshprabhu, sitting Congress legislator lost in Congress bastion Pernem while his brother Devendra Deshprabhu, who was contesting as an
independent from neighbouring Mandrem constituency, too lost.

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.