Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > News > PTI

Manipur: Congress wins both seats, commands simple majority

June 05, 2007 12:44 IST
Last Updated: June 05, 2007 15:00 IST

Related Articles
Manipur elections, 2007: Coverage

The Congress party has won both seats in bypolls in Manipur, held on June 2.

Okram Landhoni, wife of Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh won the Khangabok Assembly constituency, Thoubal district, with a margin of over 18,000 votes.

Landhoni of the Congress party got 22,245 votes, while Qutub Ali of the Nationalist Congress Party got 3,613. Kh Angou (Samajwadi Party) got 467 votes.

O Ibobi vacated the seat as he had won in two constituencies in the elections held in February.

Th Lokeshore of the Congress party won the Khundrakpam Assembly constituency elections by a margin of about 2,000 votes. Lokeshore got 9,580 votes, while his nearest rival L Premchand of Communist Party of India got 7,402 votes.

The Congress now commands simple majority in the 60 member House. It now has 31 legislators.

The Congress office witnessed jubilant scenes with workers celebrating the success of the Congress party.

Counting began at the Thoubal DC office at 10 tables for Khangabol and at Imphal East DC office for Khundrakpam at 8 am.

The Congress is organising a formal welcome to the two elected members later on Tuesday.

Congress leaders said even though the Congress had attained the magic figure of 31, it would continue the alliance with the Communist Party of India and the Rashtriya Janata Dal.

The Congress and CPI with four members and RJD with three members had formed the Secular Progressive Front government in Manipur.

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.