Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > News > PTI

Major shake-up in Delhi Police

July 19, 2007 23:21 IST

A major shake-up in the top brass of the Delhi Police was carried out on Thursday, ahead of an expected replacement of Commissioner K K Paul.

Two top officials have been shifted out of Delhi while two others were promoted in the reshuffle, official sources said.

The senior most official to be transfered was Special Commissioner (Security) Ajay Chadha, a 1977 batch IPS officer of AGMU cadre, who will take over as the first Director General of Police of Arunachal Pradesh.

Joint Commissioner (Crime) Ranjit Narayan, a 1978 batch IPS officer of AGMU cadre, has been shifted to Andaman and Nicobar as the first DGP there.

The two Director General posts in Arunachal Pradesh and Andaman and Nicobar Islands were upgraded recently.

It was earlier headed by an officer of the rank of Additional Director General. Satish Chandra and Vimla Mehra, posted as Joint Commissioners, were promoted to the rank of Additional DGP, sources said.

Chandra is presently holding the charge of Joint Commissioner (Headquarters).

N S Rana, a 1975 batch AGMU cadre IPS officer, has been transfered to the capital from Arunachal Pradesh while the services of A K Sinha, a 1979 batch IPS official, has been placed at the disposal of Delhi government.

Inspector General of Police Dharmendra [Images] Kumar, Andaman and Nicobar has been shifted to Arunachal Pradesh in same post.

The reshuffle comes against the backdrop of an expected shifting of Paul to UPSC.

The first woman IPS officer Kiran Bedi and senior Delhi Police officer Y S Dadwal have emerged as the hot favourites to succeed Paul.

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.