Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > News > PTI

All Congress MLAs resign in UP

February 26, 2007 16:28 IST

Related Articles
Mulayam wins trust vote in UP
More news: Uttar Pradesh

All the 15 Congress MLAs in the Uttar Pradesh Vidhan Sabha on Monday submitted their resignations from their membership in protest against what the party alleged as 'continuance of an illegal and unconstitutional Mulayam regime'.

Congress Legislature Party leader Pramod Tewari told reporters that 15 Congress and one Bharatiya Janata Party MLA Puran Singh Bundela, who joined the Congress on Monday, have resigned from their membership.

The resignations would be sent to the Congress president Sonia Gandhi, he said.

Tewari said that his party had boycotted Monday's proceedings of the Vidhan Sabha as the government was 'unconstitutional and illegal'.

Referring to the trust vote won by the Mulayam government in the House, he said that the remaining 24 breakaway BSP MLAs and 19 MLAs of BSP and RLD were also included in the government strength.

Mulayam Singh Yadav government would be reduced to minority if these MLAs were taken out, Tewari claimed.

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.