Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > News > PTI

Manipur polls: 2nd phase campaigning ends

February 12, 2007 18:44 IST
Last Updated: February 12, 2007 18:47 IST

Related Articles
2007 Three-State Assembly Polls
Manipur elections, 2007

The lacklustre campaigning for the second phase Manipur Assembly elections on February 14 ended on Tuesday.

Altogether 155 candidates are in fray for the polls in 29 Assembly constituencies spread over three valley districts of Imphal East, Imphal West and Bishnupur, official sources said.

Although promises of withdrawal of Armed Forces Special Powers Act and solving insurgency problem through political dialouge were the main issues at mega rallies, candidates concentrated on house-to-house campaign with themes of development of local areas.

The fate of former chief minister and Manipur People's Party candidate R K Dorendra Singh, MPP president L Chandraman Singh, Arts and Culture minister Ph Parijat Singh (Communist Party of India), Education Minister L.Nandakumar (Congress), Works Minister Govindas Konthoujam (Congress), former speaker O Joy Singh (MPP) and former minister Nimaichand Luwang (MPP) would be decided in the second phase polls.

The third and final phase polls to 12 constituencies would be held on February 23. The first phase saw voters in 19 constituencies exercising their franchise on February 8.

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.