Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > News > PTI

In Rajkot, BJP gets 7 seats, Congress gets 3

December 23, 2007 17:31 IST

Riding on a Modi wave, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party captured as many as seven seats out of 11 seats in Rajkot district, while the Congress got three and one went to the Nationalist Congress Party in the Gujarat assembly elections, counting for which was held on Sunday.

State finance minister Vajubhai Vala retained his Rajkot-II seat by beating Congress candidate Kashmira Nathwani by a margin of 9,856 votes, while Govind Patel (Rajkot-I, BJP) and Bhavna Babariya (Rajkot rural, BJP) also made their way to the Gujarat assembly, registering victory with healthy margins of 35,643 votes and 41,398 votes respectively.

Coverage: Battle for Gujarat

Kanti Amrutiya, sitting MLA from Morbi segment, who spent more than three years in jail for involvement in a murder case also retained his seat with a margin of 22,521 votes.

Congress candidates Vitthal Radadiya of Dhoraji, Kunvarji Bavaliya of Jasdan and Pirzada Mohmmad Javed of Vankaner also managed to retain their seats.

Sitting BJP MLA from Gondal segment, Jayrajsinh Jadeja, lost to NCP candidate Chandu Vaghasiya by a narrow margin of 488 votes. Jasuben Korat (Jetpur, BJP), Mohan Kundariya (Tankara, BJP) and Pravin Mankadiya (Upleta, BJP) retained their seats.

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.