Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > News > Report

Shiv Sena attends NDA parliamentary meet

August 08, 2007 20:47 IST

The rift between the Bharatiya Janata Party and Shiv Sena built up at the time of the presidential election appeared to have been resolved as the latter sent in its representative to attend the National Democratic Alliance Parliamentary Party meeting in New Delhi, to discuss alliance's agenda for the Monsoon Session of Parliament, beginning August 10.

Former Maharashtra chief finister and former Lok Sabha Speaker Manohar Joshi attended the meeting, presided over by Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha L K Advani, as former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee was indisposed and NDA convener George Fernandes [Images] was in Bihar, visiting the flood-ravaged areas.

BJP Deputy Leader in the Rajya Sabha Sushma Swaraj, in reply to a question whether Shiv Sena would be supporting NDA candidate for the vice presidential election Najma Heptulla [Images] in the August 10 election, she said "We are hopeful that they will support NDA candidate."

When further clarification was sought whether they were just hopeful or confident about the Shiv Sena support, Swaraj said "sometimes presence conveys much more than word." The meeting was not attended by Biju Janata Dal and Trinamool Congress, she confirmed, saying it was learnt that the information about the NDA meeting never reached them. "We are looking into the matter," she said.

Leaders of both Trinamool Congress and BJD were reaching on Thursday and will meet Advani, she said.

Those present at the meeting included Leader of the Opposition in Rajya Sabha Jaswant Singh, BJP President Rajnath Singh, JD(U) President Sharad Yadav and Shiromani Akali Dal leader Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa.

The meeting primarily finalised issues to be raised in Parliament and the vice-presidential election.