Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > News > PTI

Bhagalpur, Nalanda bypolls peaceful

November 06, 2006 11:11 IST
Last Updated: November 06, 2006 19:51 IST

Related Articles
More news: Bihar
Ghost of 1989 riots returns to Bhagalpur

The bypoll to Bihar's Bhagalpur and Nalanda parliamentary constituencies passed off peacefully on Monday, amidst tight security with an estimated 35-40 percent voters exercising their franchise.

No untoward incident was reported from anywhere in the constituency, though there were reports of voters bycotting the by-elections in about a dozen polling stations in the two constituencies to protest against local problems like bad roads, Bihar's additional chief electoral officer V S Lal said.

Former Rashtriya Janata Dal MLA from Biharsharif in Nalanda, Naudhad-un-Nabi alias Pappu Khan was taken into custody till conclusion of balloting for allegedly forcing the people to cast their votes in favour of independent candidate Arun Kumar, who is being backed by his party.

The votes on Monday will decide the fate of eight candidates, including former union minister Syed Shahnawaz Hussain of BJP, former MP from Munger Shakuni Chaudhary (RJD) and Subodh Roy of CPI-M, also a former Lok Sabha member.

The by-poll in Nalanda and Bhagalpur was held following the resignation of Nitish Kumar and Sushil Kumar Modi on becoming chief minister and deputy chief minister respectively.

© Copyright 2006 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
Share your comments


Copyright © 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.