Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > News > PTI

Quota: Govt announces 13-member committee headed by Moily

May 29, 2006 14:40 IST
Last Updated: May 29, 2006 14:52 IST

Moving quickly to bring an end to the quota imbroglio, the government on Monday announced a 13-member committee headed by senior Congress member of Parliament Veerappa Moily to look into the issue of implementation of 27 per cent reservation for OBCs in higher education institutions and requirements for increasing seats without reducing the number in the general category.

Approved by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, the Oversight Committee with secretaries from the ministries of Human Resources Development, Health and Family Welfare, Agriculture and Finance, has been asked to submit its report by August 31, 2006.

The committee includes B Mungekar, member, Planning Commission; R Mashelkar, director general, CSIR; S K Thorat, UGC chairman; R A Yadav, vice chairman, AICTE; N K Ganguly, director general, ICMR; G Mohan Gopal, former VC, National Law School and R V Vaidyanatha Ayyar, former secretary.

Simultaneously, the government also appointed three groups to go into specific details about universities and institutes regarding the course of action for giving effect to the OBC quota in a time-bound manner.

Under the terms of reference, the groups will identify the courses at undergraduate and post-graduate level in each of the institutions and universities and student intake for the academic session 2007-08.

The groups have also been asked to identify the total number of OBCs and consequently to other categories in each course.

The groups will identify for each course, the increase in the total number of seats so as to maintain the total availability of seats in the unreserved category and determine the requirement of faculty and other infrastructure for the enhanced intake and†also determine the additional requirement of recurring and non-recurring expenditure.

Among other things, the groups will suggest measures, in short term, to be taken by each institute for the enhanced intake from the academic session 2007-08 and any other preparatory or consequential steps†required to be taken in order to implement the policy of reservations.

The groups will submit their recommendations by July 31.

The Group for Technological/Engineering institutions will be headed by M Anandakrishnan, former vice chancellor of Anna University. It will have Sanjay Dhande, director, IIT, Kanpur; S K Dube, director, IIT, Kharagpur; Sanjeev Bhargava, director, IIT, Jabalpur; R P Dahiya, director, NIT, Jaipur; N Balakrishnan, IISc; Y V Rao, director, NIT Warangal; I M Mishra, IIT, Roorkee; and Indira Rajaraman, NIPFP as its members.

Headed by Samuel Paul, former director of IIM, Bangalore, the group for Management institutions will have Bakul Dholakia, director, IIM, Ahmedabad; Krishna Kumar, director, IIM, Kozhikode; Shekhar Chaudhury, director, IIM, Kolkata; S D Awale, director, NITIE, Mumbai; and Devi Singh, director, IIM, Lucknow as its members.

© Copyright 2006 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 67

Sub: The ''Committee'' Stratagem

I remember having read of Professor Northcote Parkinsonís dictum that ***appointing committees is a way of avoiding commitment and that delay is the deadliest form ...

Posted by Cogito_ergo...

Sub: ''Committee''

Did the government make sure that the committee has 22.5 per cent SC/ST and 27 per cent OBC? Are there any other quota groups that ...

Posted by Dr T S Raman

Sub: Reservation-A political expecdiency..

How can u assure/Prove that a boy of 16 years old waiting for an admission into Engieering,medical or any other competitive faculty is at disadvantage ...

Posted by Dilip Datta

Sub: quota

First it was V.P. Singh and 15 years later it is Arjun Singh who have sought to create anarchy in society. V.P. Singh conceded of ...

Posted by himkar mishra

Sub: No Reservations Please !

I am surprised that a supposed-to-be-good-politician so far, like Manmohan Singh is supporting the Reservation Bill. As a good politician, he should oppose the bill ...

Posted by shrikanthb



Copyright © 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.