Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > News > PTI

DMK announces candidates list

March 30, 2006 22:53 IST

Giving prominence to party stalwarts and featuring new faces, the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam on Thursday announced a list of 129 candidates for the May 8 Assembly polls.

Twenty-three party members of the outgoing Assembly have been re-nominated by the party but five sitting MLAs have been denied ticket.

Two of the sitting MLAs, said to be close to the party's youth wing leader M K Stalin -- M Asokhan and Bharanikumar--are among those dropped.

Party president M Karunanidhi is contesting for the 11th time. Karunanidhi, who has not tasted defeat since 1957, will contest from Chepauk in Central Chennai.

His son M K Stalin is seeking re-election from Thousand Lights, while party general secretary K Anbazhagan and treasurer N Veerasamy are contesting from Chennai Harbour and Anna Nagar constituencies respectively.

Party old guards Veerapandi S Arumugam and Ko Si Mani have been fielded from Salem-Two and Kumbakonam respectively.

Dr Poongothai, daughter of the slain DMK leader Aladi Aruna, has been nominated for Alankulam seat.

The list contains 13 women and four Muslims. Seventy-seven candidates are either post graduates or graduates, some of them even engineering degree holders.

Actor Napoleon has been shifted from Villivakkam to Mylapore to take on ruling AIADMK's S V Sekar, a popular comedian. Former professor of economics of

The Madras University M Naganathan, who is making his electoral debut, is the party's nominee for Triplicane seat.

Former MPs A T K Jayaseelan, P Selvendran, N Selvaraj and V P Doraisamy and former speaker of Tamil Nadu Assembly P T R Palanivelrajan have been given tickets.

Releasing the list, Karunanidhi said the Democratic Progressive Alliance's poll campaign would be launched at a public meeting in Chennai on April 5.

© Copyright 2006 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
Share your comments


Copyright 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.