Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > News > PTI

Congress expels 13 rebel members in Assam

March 27, 2006 15:07 IST

The Congress has expelled 13 members in Assam, including a sitting MLA, who had filed their nominations as independents following denial of party tickets to them for the forthcoming assembly polls.

The rebels have been expelled for six years for anti-party activities; Assam Pradesh Congress committee media cell chairman I P Hazarika said in Guwahati on Monday.

Those expelled include Karimganj MLA Siddique Ahmed, controversial party MP and lottery baron Mani Kumar Subba's brother Sanjay Raj Subba contesting from Naoboicha, Samsul Islam from Hailakandi, Kaliram Deka (Morigaon), Swapan Kumar (Lumding), Tusheswar Neog (Golaghat), Osiram Doley (Majuli), Umesh Gogoi (Thowra), Samujjal Prasad Barua (Sonari), Nilosh Hazarika (Bihpuria), Paramananda Doley (Chabua), Durgeshwar Tanti (Dhemaji) and Pradeep Buragohain (Nahorkotia).

Hazarika said the party would not tolerate any anti-party activities and had therefore decided to expel members who were contesting as independents.

© Copyright 2006 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
Share your comments


Copyright 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.