Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > News > PTI

TN: PMK inks pact with DMK, bags 31 seats

March 10, 2006 13:27 IST

The Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam on Friday finalised the seat-sharing pact with the Pattali Makkal Katchi, allotting it 31 seats for the May eight polls to the Tamil Nadu assembly.

The agreement was signed by DMK president M Karunanidhi and PMK founder leader S Ramadoss at the DMK headquarters, 'Anna Arivalayam.' With this, the DMK, heading the Democratic Progressive Alliance in Tamil Nadu, has wrapped up seat sharing arrangements with all its constituents.

The PMK had contested 27 seats in alliance with the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam in the 2001 assembly elections. After the exit of Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam from the front, the DMK could allot more seats to all its constituents.

The Congress secured the maximum of 48 seats followed by PMK (31), Communist Party of India (Marxist) (13), Communist Party of India (10) and Indian Union Muslim League (3).

The DMK is expected to allot one seat each to the MGR Kazhagam led by former minister R M Veerappan and Moovendar Munnetra Kazhagam led by Dr Sethuraman. However, they will contest the polls on DMK's 'Rising Sun' symbol like the IUML.

© Copyright 2006 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
Share your comments


Copyright 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.